There are 72 users in the forums

Remember
Not a member? Register Now!

*** WEEK 3 NFL GAMEDAY THREAD 9/20 - 9/24 ***

Originally posted by jdt84_2:
I guess this is the biggest point of disagreement..

I feel 1 hand like tates equals simultaneous possession. I do not care that his 2nd hand comes off becausethat left hand was there the whole time until Jennings landed on tate and startedto pull the ballaway. I just watched it on NFL network and it strengthens my belief that this was not a horrible call by that official.

i agree
Originally posted by schmons:
Originally posted by jdt84_2:
I guess this is the biggest point of disagreement..

I feel 1 hand like tates equals simultaneous possession. I do not care that his 2nd hand comes off becausethat left hand was there the whole time until Jennings landed on tate and startedto pull the ballaway. I just watched it on NFL network and it strengthens my belief that this was not a horrible call by that official.

i agree

I just watch FOXNews....did you know Obama is an illegal alien Muslim?
Originally posted by Dr_Bill_Walsh:
Originally posted by schmons:
Originally posted by jdt84_2:
I guess this is the biggest point of disagreement..

I feel 1 hand like tates equals simultaneous possession. I do not care that his 2nd hand comes off becausethat left hand was there the whole time until Jennings landed on tate and startedto pull the ballaway. I just watched it on NFL network and it strengthens my belief that this was not a horrible call by that official.

i agree

I just watch FOXNews....did you know Obama is an illegal alien Muslim?

i just watched it again, seems like tate had his ass and the ball clutched to his body as his bum was on the ground before jennings gets 2 feet on the ground or anything that would represent a catch (possession and 2 feet on the ground or some sort of body part other than the hand)
Originally posted by schmons:
Originally posted by jdt84_2:
I guess this is the biggest point of disagreement..

I feel 1 hand like tates equals simultaneous possession. I do not care that his 2nd hand comes off becausethat left hand was there the whole time until Jennings landed on tate and startedto pull the ballaway. I just watched it on NFL network and it strengthens my belief that this was not a horrible call by that official.

i agree

By rule the play is till the reciver comes down and maintains possession. And as you said, "jennings came down with it and had possesion." So he went up to grab it and came down with it. Thats an INT. two refs were right there and the back judge had the best view and he called it an INT. the real refs would have at least talmed it over. These guys are just way in kver their heads. Thats a clear INT live, slow mo and in person. At best they misinterpreted the simtanous possessiom rule. At sorst they actually thought Golden Taint caught it.
Originally posted by schmons:
Originally posted by jdt84_2:
I guess this is the biggest point of disagreement..

I feel 1 hand like tates equals simultaneous possession. I do not care that his 2nd hand comes off becausethat left hand was there the whole time until Jennings landed on tate and startedto pull the ballaway. I just watched it on NFL network and it strengthens my belief that this was not a horrible call by that official.

i agree

Lol you two can't possibly be serious.
  • vaden
  • Veteran
  • Posts: 2,777
Most disgusting game in NFL history. I've never seen worse officiating in my life - even *before* the hail mary, which is also the worst call I've *ever* seen. It sickens me that anyone would defend such atrocious officiating and dare say it was simultaneous possession.Jennings caught that ball. FACT

Originally posted by vaden:
Most disgusting game in NFL history. I've never seen worse officiating in my life - even *before* the hail mary, which is also the worst call I've *ever* seen. It sickens me that anyone would defend such atrocious officiating and dare say it was simultaneous possession.Jennings caught that ball. FACT


haha yeah looks like Tate is just reaching and grabbing at this arms
you cant interpret the rules as who had more possession of the ball or who had possession first. based on rules, the officials did the right thing. call me crazy. officials waited until the play was finished before making a ruling much like they do after a fumble skirmish. Golden Tate and Jennings both had their hands on the ball no matter how much more Jennings had possession of it - tie goes to offense. They reviewed it, couldn't review the part in question. Call was made, game over.
No matter how much I saw Jennings make that interception at first, the play needs to finish itself out. It's kind of like the Calvin Johnson play from last year in my eyes.
Originally posted by schmons:
you cant interpret the rules as who had more possession of the ball or who had possession first. based on rules, the officials did the right thing. call me crazy. officials waited until the play was finished before making a ruling much like they do after a fumble skirmish. Golden Tate and Jennings both had their hands on the ball no matter how much more Jennings had possession of it - tie goes to offense. They reviewed it, couldn't review the part in question. Call was made, game over.
No matter how much I saw Jennings make that interception at first, the play needs to finish itself out. It's kind of like the Calvin Johnson play from last year in my eyes.

Here's the rule in the NFL rule book word for word:

"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."

So to be blunt and rash, you are absolutely wrong. Right in the playbooks it says that whoever has control FIRST retains possession of the ball. So stop trying to argue a losing battle. You're wrong. Jennings came down with the ball and Tate eventually got joint possession of it.
Originally posted by ElDannMann:
Originally posted by schmons:
you cant interpret the rules as who had more possession of the ball or who had possession first. based on rules, the officials did the right thing. call me crazy. officials waited until the play was finished before making a ruling much like they do after a fumble skirmish. Golden Tate and Jennings both had their hands on the ball no matter how much more Jennings had possession of it - tie goes to offense. They reviewed it, couldn't review the part in question. Call was made, game over.
No matter how much I saw Jennings make that interception at first, the play needs to finish itself out. It's kind of like the Calvin Johnson play from last year in my eyes.

Here's the rule in the NFL rule book word for word:

"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."

So to be blunt and rash, you are absolutely wrong. Right in the playbooks it says that whoever has control FIRST retains possession of the ball. So stop trying to argue a losing battle. You're wrong. Jennings came down with the ball and Tate eventually got joint possession of it.

Yeap, can't be clearer than that. Jennings clearly had control of the ball when he caught it in the air, gathered it to his chest, and going down with both feet touched the ground. Just because Jennings caught the ball with 1 of Tate's hand on it, does not constitute control or possession of the ball by Tate.
Originally posted by TheRatMan13:
Originally posted by jreff22:
.be

Lol Im sure he's not the only one.

It's a game winning TOUCHBACKDOWN!!
Should start some kind of boycott until the real refs come back. Maybe only watch streams off the internet or something.
Originally posted by qnnhan7:
Originally posted by ElDannMann:
Originally posted by schmons:
you cant interpret the rules as who had more possession of the ball or who had possession first. based on rules, the officials did the right thing. call me crazy. officials waited until the play was finished before making a ruling much like they do after a fumble skirmish. Golden Tate and Jennings both had their hands on the ball no matter how much more Jennings had possession of it - tie goes to offense. They reviewed it, couldn't review the part in question. Call was made, game over.
No matter how much I saw Jennings make that interception at first, the play needs to finish itself out. It's kind of like the Calvin Johnson play from last year in my eyes.

Here's the rule in the NFL rule book word for word:

"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."

So to be blunt and rash, you are absolutely wrong. Right in the playbooks it says that whoever has control FIRST retains possession of the ball. So stop trying to argue a losing battle. You're wrong. Jennings came down with the ball and Tate eventually got joint possession of it.

Yeap, can't be clearer than that. Jennings clearly had control of the ball when he caught it in the air, gathered it to his chest, and going down with both feet touched the ground. Just because Jennings caught the ball with 1 of Tate's hand on it, does not constitute control or possession of the ball by Tate.
Jobbed big time
Originally posted by jdt84_2:
I guess this is the biggest point of disagreement..

I feel 1 hand like tates equals simultaneous possession. I do not care that his 2nd hand comes off becausethat left hand was there the whole time until Jennings landed on tate and startedto pull the ballaway. I just watched it on NFL network and it strengthens my belief that this was not a horrible call by that official.

Not only was it an interception but it was a offensive pass interference also. Both obvious calls. And Tate only had one hand on the ball and it's very clear Jennings has both hands on the ball and is in control. Horrible call. Please don't ever apply for a referees job.
Originally posted by 49erswillbeback:
Originally posted by jdt84_2:
I guess this is the biggest point of disagreement..

I feel 1 hand like tates equals simultaneous possession. I do not care that his 2nd hand comes off becausethat left hand was there the whole time until Jennings landed on tate and startedto pull the ballaway. I just watched it on NFL network and it strengthens my belief that this was not a horrible call by that official.

Not only was it an interception but it was a offensive pass interference also. Both obvious calls. And Tate only had one hand on the ball and it's very clear Jennings has both hands on the ball and is in control. Horrible call. Please don't ever apply for a referees job.

hell the bogus PI call they called on GB was bad as well
Search Podcast Draft Forum Commentary News Shop Home