News Wire

Exclusives

By Phil Walsh; Mar 20, 2015 at 8:11 AM; Share
4
Welcome to 'First and Goal', your guide to everything Niners. This week, we'll take a deeper look at new Defensive Coordinator Eric Mangini, as well as say goodbye to yet another Niner, Chris Borland. We'll also take a look at a few college players that might fit our team, given the recent subtractions. As always, be sure to check out our Hero of the Week. Let's get to it! The 'Mangenius'...
By Stewart M. Cockrell; Mar 18, 2015 at 1:10 PM; Share
12
Wow…What a crazy couple weeks. I had originally written this article as a "back off the ledge fellow fans" type of piece but it seemed I couldn't write fast enough to keep up with the unfolding drama. I feel like I need to at least say something about the recent developments. I once read a quote that stated, "Your strengths maximized become your liabilities". For the past four years, the...
By David Bonilla; Mar 17, 2015 at 9:36 PM; Share
13
For fans hoping for the San Francisco 49ers to trade up for a top tier player on April 30, you may need to re-examine what is best for the team. It's understandable to want to best player within reach, but that may not always be the most beneficial move for a team. You want that star power. That one guy that can come in and electrify and rejuvenate his position. However, the bigger picture should...
By Jesse Dumas; Mar 17, 2015 at 1:49 PM; Share
69
This is what happens when you cut the head off an organization. All hell breaks loose. It's well past time to stop lamenting the loss of the finest head coach this franchise has seen in the last 20 years, but holy-living-Christ, do the hits just keep on coming! I'll admit, I scoffed initially at the narrative that all the players were jumping ship due to the regime change. Losing Frank Gore,...
By Joseph Sarao; Mar 16, 2015 at 10:27 PM; Share
8
Next week, if Navorro Bowman retires due to his knee not feeling better, would you be shocked? I was watching TV when I saw my phone blink red with an ESPN alert. When I first read it, I thought it was some type of hack. I run upstairs to tell my wife and she was asking me what website did I see this on? She thought I was even being spoofed. Chris Borland is retiring at 24 years young, after...

Top Videos

Trending Forum Topics

Trending News Stories

Niner Tweets

Vernon Davis
#TBT I swear, these two crack me up! http://t.co/txu7YN6q3F
by Vernon Davis on Mar 26, 2015 at 2:57 PM
Shayne Skov
So is future house now the official genre for the recent music we were mislabeling as Deep House?
by Shayne Skov on Mar 26, 2015 at 2:36 PM
Colin Kaepernick
And I'm goin turn up regardless! #7tormsComing #IDontGetTired https://t.co/45giZCQFRF
by Colin Kaepernick on Mar 26, 2015 at 1:59 PM
Nick Moody
Uhh huuuuh @3Johnson6 http://t.co/LyG85iVRMg
by Nick Moody on Mar 26, 2015 at 1:55 PM
Shayne Skov
Have you wept for the death of Top Gear as we know it @Huey_85 ?
by Shayne Skov on Mar 26, 2015 at 1:52 PM
Kory Faulkner
Tar Heels tonight!
by Kory Faulkner on Mar 26, 2015 at 1:10 PM
Standings
Team W L T Pct Stk
Seattle 12 4 0 .750 Won 6
Arizona 11 5 0 .688 Lost 2
San Francisco 8 8 0 .500 Won 1
St. Louis 6 10 0 .375 Lost 3
Schedule
Preseason
Thu, Aug 7 @ Ravens L 3-23
Sun, Aug 17 Broncos L 0-34
Sun, Aug 24 Chargers W 21-7
Thu, Aug 28 @ Texans W 40-13
Regular Season
Sun, Sep 7 @ Cowboys W 28-17
Sun, Sep 14 Bears L 20-28
Sun, Sep 21 @ Cardinals L 14-23
Sun, Sep 28 Eagles W 26-21
Sun, Oct 5 Chiefs W 22-17
Mon, Oct 13 @ Rams W 31-17
Sun, Oct 19 @ Broncos L 17-42
BYE
Sun, Nov 2 Rams L 10-13
Sun, Nov 9 @ Saints W 27-24
Sun, Nov 16 @ Giants W 16-10
Sun, Nov 23 Redskins W 17-13
Thu, Nov 27 Seahawks L 3-19
Sun, Dec 7 @ Raiders L 13-24
Sun, Dec 14 @ Seahawks L 7-17
Sat, Dec 20 Chargers L 35-38
Sun, Dec 28 Cardinals W 20-17
Poll
Who is the 49ers' biggest free agent loss so far?
CB Chris Culliver (WAS)
RB Frank Gore (IND)
G Mike Iupati (ARI)
OLB Dan Skuta (JAX)