News Wire

Exclusives

By Jack Hammer; Aug 29, 2014 at 8:46 AM; Share
10
Now that the preseason is officially behind us let's get ready for the 2014 season. We'll use this open thread for a discussion of the team as cut-down day approaches. Any and all football related questions are fair game. A few questions to kick it off: Which rookie(s) are you most excited to see in the regular season? Which bubble players make the roster? Can this team win a game if Blaine...
By Jack Hammer; Aug 28, 2014 at 9:02 PM; Share
5
The San Francisco 49ers finished their preseason slate Thursday night with a 40-13 victory over the Houston Texans. Let's take a look at the bad and the good. Bad: Jack Hammer – I need to start with an apology for not being able to host the live blog as advertised. We had a minor family emergency that needed tending to and caused me to miss watching the majority of the first half live....
By Stewart M. Cockrell; Aug 27, 2014 at 3:57 PM; Share
6
The growing dilemma of Alex Boone seems to be a central story line of the offseason and as the 49ers near the end of training camp there has been no real progress made. There were reports that a contract offer was made to Boone that would have made him one of the top 15 paid guards, but this was rejected. Meanwhile, Pro-bowl guard Mike Iupati is entering a contract season and looking to bounce...
By Jack Hammer; Aug 26, 2014 at 2:08 PM; Share
4
The San Francisco 49ers have averaged 12 wins per season since 2011. Each year has featured several games that defined the season. In 2011 it was come from behind wins early on in Philadelphia and Detroit. In 2012 there was the Thursday night victory over Seattle, Colin Kaepernick's debut against Chicago, and a stunning defeat of New England in Foxboro. Last season featured a dominating offensive...
By Stewart M. Cockrell; Aug 26, 2014 at 11:32 AM; Share
5
For the most part, the 49ers have done a great job of drafting over the past few years. There have been some head scratchers (A.J. Jenkins?) and some that just haven't panned out, but that is life in the NFL. Find me a team that hits 100% on every pick every year and I will buy you a steak dinner. What the 49ers have been doing over the past few seasons in drafting guys that they don't intend to...

Top Videos

Trending Forum Topics

Trending News Stories

Niner Tweets

Eric Reid
YESSIR!!!! #GEAUXTIGERS
by Eric Reid on Aug 30, 2014 at 6:52 PM
Stevie Johnson
Madden15. Run it. Flight1300 #XboxOne
by Stevie Johnson on Aug 30, 2014 at 6:51 PM
Luke Marquardt
Dinner cruise in SF with my gal @jess_n_jones http://t.co/HWUQP79Sb3
by Luke Marquardt on Aug 30, 2014 at 6:28 PM
Corey Lemonier
S/O to my boy @F_Hill64 great win today #WarEagle
by Corey Lemonier on Aug 30, 2014 at 6:11 PM
Antoine Bethea
What is everyone up to this #LaborDayWeekend? http://t.co/PE1hL1kngs
by Antoine Bethea on Aug 30, 2014 at 5:53 PM
Nick Moody
Yeah that's PJ. Best corner in this years draft
by Nick Moody on Aug 30, 2014 at 5:49 PM
Standings
Team W L T Pct Stk
Seattle 2 2 0 .500 Lost 1
San Francisco 2 2 0 .500 Won 2
Arizona 1 3 0 .250 Lost 3
St. Louis 1 3 0 .250 Lost 1
Schedule
Preseason
Thu, Aug 7 @ Ravens L 3-23
Sun, Aug 17 Broncos L 0-34
Sun, Aug 24 Chargers W 21-7
Thu, Aug 28 @ Texans W 40-13
Regular Season
Sun, Sep 7 @ Cowboys Tickets 1:25 pm
Sun, Sep 14 Bears Tickets 5:30 pm
Sun, Sep 21 @ Cardinals Tickets 1:05 pm
Sun, Sep 28 Eagles Tickets 1:25 pm
Sun, Oct 5 Chiefs Tickets 1:25 pm
Mon, Oct 13 @ Rams Tickets 5:30 pm
Sun, Oct 19 @ Broncos Tickets 5:30 pm
BYE
Sun, Nov 2 Rams Tickets 1:05 pm
Sun, Nov 9 @ Saints Tickets 10:00 am
Sun, Nov 16 @ Giants Tickets 10:00 am
Sun, Nov 23 Redskins Tickets 1:25 pm
Thu, Nov 27 Seahawks Tickets 5:30 pm
Sun, Dec 7 @ Raiders Tickets 1:25 pm
Sun, Dec 14 @ Seahawks Tickets 1:25 pm
Sat, Dec 20 Chargers Tickets 1:30 pm
Sun, Dec 28 Cardinals Tickets 1:25 pm
Poll
Aldon Smith's nine game suspension:
Fair
Unfair