Ric Tapia-NFL

Ric Tapia-NFL

NFL Network explained why their "live" broadcast of tonight's Week 3 preseason match-up between the San Francisco 49ers and the Green Bay Packers was listed on their schedule as starting at 8 PM PT and 11 PM ET. Kickoff is at 7 PM PT and 10 PM ET.

Due to broadcast restrictions with the CBS airing of the Cleveland Browns and Tampa Bay Buccaneers game, NFL Network will join the game in progress an hour after kickoff. However, NFL Network does note that the full-game re-airing will occur on Saturday at 1:30 PM PT.

Tonight's game will likely feature the highly publicized first game of the preseason for 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick amid a quarterback competition with Blaine Gabbert. For Packers fans, it will also likely be the only preseason game that quarterback Aaron Rodgers plays in. So to join the game late and possibly miss a big chunk of play by those two quarterbacks is a huge disappointment for fans outside of the Bay Area and Wisconsin home markets.

The game will be televised on KPIX 5 in the Bay Area, NBC 26 in Green Bay, and various other networks throughout Northern California and the Great Lakes region.

RELATED Preview: Green Bay Packers at San Francisco 49ers

Area Channel
San Francisco KPIX 5
Sacramento KOVR 13
Monterey KION 46
San Luis Obispo KSBY 6.2
Fresno KFRE 59
Bakersfield KERO 23
Las Vegas, NV KLAS 8
Reno, NV KOLO 8
Chico KRVU 22
Eureka KECA 29
Medford, OR KMVU 26
Eugene, OR KVAL 13
Bend, OR KFXO 39
Honolulu, HI KITV 4