There are 99 users in the forums

Remember
Not a member? Register Now!

Going into the draft with no needs? (My first mock)

I've reached the point where I'm growing tired of reading mock drafts that have zero clue on how the front office will approach the draft. Now, I'm not saying that I (or any other poster here) has a direct line into the war room (hardly anyone saw Aldon Smith coming), but I think we know enough to know what up-and-coming players they value, based on playing time last year and FA moves this year. So, let's review:

Wide-Receiver: This was obviously are most glaring deficiency, and we've signed Randy Moss and Mario Manningham to help cover it. Are we finished upgrading the position? I doubt it. But drafting a WR high is risky, and this is an extraordinarily deep class. I can see us waiting until Round 3-4 to take a WR.

Cornerback: I've been hoping for a cornerback for a few years now (Prince in 2011, Haden in 2010), but not anymore. While Carlos Rogers is a big part of it, a consistent pass-rush is the bigger benefit to our secondary, particularly with Tarrell Brown's play. I think the coaches are high on Chris Culliver's ability, and I don't see them drafting a CB high for that reason. Any time I see a mock draft with Alphonso Dennard or Janoris Jenkins slotted to the 49ers, I immediately stop reading it.