LISTEN: Are The 49ers Showing Their Hand? →

There are 246 users in the forums

Best Defensive Big Men in the NBA (Synergy Sports)

• crzy
  • Hall of Fame
http://www.mysynergysports.com/

So I started playing around with this Synergy Sports website (free demo) to try and quantify how bad David Lee is on defense. I arranged it in a table so you can see how Udoh, David Lee, and Biedrins compare to the other big men in the NBA. The table breaks down the overall defense of each player, and then it shows how they defend isolation plays, pick and rolls, spot-up shooters, and their post-up defense.

PPP means Points given up per Play . How many points that the player gives up per defensive play.

Overall though, the data probably has some shortcomings, because it doesn't account for help defense. Or the fact that certain players come off the bench, meaning that they are guarding opposing bench players rather than superstars.

And the biggest shortcoming is that it doesn't account for team defense....since certain players look much better in a team defensive scheme than they do as individual defenders.

Overall Defense

Apparently Emeka Okafor is the most efficient defensive player in the NBA. It's kinda strange how some of these stats don't match up with certain player's defensive reputations. Robin Lopez gives up the most points per defensive play in the NBA. Kevin Love is a more efficient defensively than Marcus Camby?

And so forth.

Isolation Defense

Post-Up Defense

Pick & Roll Defense, guarding roller

Spot-Up Defense

[ Edited by crzy on Mar 25, 2011 at 20:31:05 ]
What this tells me is that Darko Millicic is the DPOY
  • crzy
  • Hall of Fame
I'm gonna try to do something like this for perimeter players. But they're probably even harder to truly judge.
Boogie Cousins
Wish we could get a bigger sample size for Udoh.
  • crzy
  • Hall of Fame