The penalty was because the ref determined that Aldon was not pushing Carimi in an attempt to get the ball. The rule states one player may push another if he is trying to get the live fumble,. If he is doing it to allow a teammate to get the fumble it is a penalty.
Batting the ball out of bounds is not a penalty. Advancing a fumble is a penalty, but the ball is just placed at the spot of the foul if I remember correct.
Either way on that particular play the Niners should have had the ball after a turnover on downs with no penalties thrown either way.
[ Edited by WINiner on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:59 AM ]