There are 149 users in the forums

Why do you love the niners?

Shop Find 49ers gear online
As niner fans, the most painful portion of the offseason is upon us....six weeks with no real news on our club. But , even during this time, I love coming to the forums and looking for stories, something about my team. So, how about we swap stories about how / why / when we came to love this team.

Here's mine: Moved around a ton as a kid. So, no home town team. When I first starting watching football was in the mid-eighties. Fell in love with beauty of Montana to Rice as a kid. So, I adopted the niners as my team. Wherever I moved, lots of things were new and unpredictable. But I could always count on my niners kicking the local team's ass. The love just grew over the years. I even decided when I graduated highschool to move out to San Francisco based entirely on the desire to be close to the team. So, I did! And I've have been a season ticketholder for 10 years this year.

What's your story?
[ Edited by Robert on Jun 28, 2012 at 7:54 PM ]
  • darum
  • Veteran
Grew up in South Bend, IN and have had season tickets to Notre Dame games since I was 5. My first memories of the NFL are of Joe Montana. Nuff said.
Originally posted by darum:
Grew up in South Bend, IN and have had season tickets to Notre Dame games since I was 5. My first memories of the NFL are of Joe Montana. Nuff said.

Very cool! I am the reverse. Loved Montana in the NFL. Heard he went to Notre Dame. So, I started rooting for the Irish!