Breaking: George Kittle seemingly shoots down Sports Illustrated report that a contract extension is imminent
Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

49ers announce they have cut 13 players

May 2, 2017 at 11:15 AM--

Following the selection of 10 rookies in the 2017 NFL Draft, the San Francisco 49ers have been busy signing numerous undrafted free agents to fill their roster. The only problem is that they have brought in more players than they have available roster spots. It was only a matter of time before numerous players from the 2016 roster were informed that they were no longer part of the team.

On Tuesday, the 49ers released 13 players, including linebacker Shayne Skov, defensive tackle Mike Purcell, and wide receiver Eric Rogers.

The 49ers also officially announced the signing of two offensive lineman – center Tim Barnes and guard Brandon Fusco. Both signings were originally reported on Monday.

Below is a list of the players who have been released by the team.

Name Position
Alex Balducci OL
Marcus Ball S
Carl Bradford LB
Jayson DiManche LB
Je'Ron Hamm TE
Chris Harper WR
Wynton McManis LB
Brock Miller P
Zach Moore DL
Mike Purcell NT
Eric Rogers WR
JaCorey Shepherd CB
Shayne Skov LB

Related News

More San Francisco 49ers News

Training Camp: 49ers Must Keep/Cut These Players

By Gilbert Brink
Aug 11, 2020

The 49ers will cut good players in 2020. When you have a Super Bowl roster, sometimes good isn't good enough. As the 49ers currently work their way through an augmented and abbreviated training camp, the importance of analyzing talent is stressed now more than ever. During a regular training camp, coaches are able to evaluate their roster through drills, padded practices, inter-squad scrimmages with other NFL teams and most importantly, actual pre-season games. Many of these tools have been stripped away, and now coaches are left only with their padded practices to determine who will make the team. These next 4 weeks will serve as the initial building block for success, or failure, in the 2020 season. Let's look at 6 key players, and determine whether they should stay or

Read the Full Article

Emmanuel Moseley offers this advice to undrafted players who won't have a preseason

By David Bonilla
Jul 30, 2020

San Francisco 49ers cornerback Emmanuel Moseley wasn't drafted, so he had to fight harder to prove himself during his rookie offseason in 2018. The hard work earned him a spot on the team's practice squad, and he was eventually promoted to the active roster for a game against the Oakland Raiders. But a shoulder injury landed him on injured reserve. Moseley earned a spot on the 53-man roster last year, thanks to a strong offseason and preseason. He is grateful for the opportunities to prove himself and realizes incoming undrafted rookies may not have the same chance this year. There have been no team-organized offseason practices due to the coronavirus

Read the Full Article

49ers place RB Jeff Wilson on reserve/COVID list, cut two others

By David Bonilla
Jul 30, 2020

The San Francisco 49ers have announced that running back Jeff Wilson Jr. has been placed on the reserve/COVID-19 list. He joins wide receiver Richie James Jr., who was placed on the list on Monday. Wilson was among the players who reported for COVID-19 testing on Tuesday. The reserve/COVID-19 list has been created for a player who either tests positive for COVID-19 or has been quarantined after having been in close contact with an infected person or persons. If a player falls into either of these categories, his club is required to immediately place the player on the reserve/COVID-19 list. Clubs are not permitted to comment on a player's medical status other than referring to the roster status and may not disclose whether the player is in quarantine

Read the Full Article


More Featured Stories

Trending News

More News
Share 49erswebzone