Alert Follow us at @49erswz until Twitter fixes the issues with our official account.

Upon Further Review: The First 32, a 2013 Mock Draft




After the 49ers' signing of Nnamdi Asomugha, it is almost certain that the 49ers are done with free-agency...and that the complexion of the 49ers most immediate needs had changed somewhat (in our opinion, at least).

Given what we know, it's time for AJ and Diego to put their heads together on a 2013 mock draft. What follows is our take on who's going where in the first round of the 2013 draft. Enjoy!

1) Kansas City Chiefs - Luke Joeckel (OT), Texas A&M: Andy Reid went out and grabbed a QB that he believes will give his team a chance to be competitive. This pick shows his commitment to keeping Alex Smith upright. (AJ)

2) Jacksonville Jaguars - Dion Jordan (DE), Oregon: There are a number of different ways Jacksonville could go with this pick, and although many believe a stud DT will be the pick here I am actually not this high on any of the those prospects. The Jaguars' lack of pass rush is equally as concerning as their interior defensive line problems, and this Oregon product should be able to come in right away and provide a boost for them. (Diego)

3) Oakland Raiders - Sharrif Floyd (DT/DE), Florida: The Raiders are bad. Epically, titanically horrific. Especially on defense. Any pick that they make in this spot has got to be a winner...and in this draft, the most obvious "can't miss" player is Floyd. He's young, immensely talented, the best player available here, fills an immediate need and has the potential to anchor the Raider defense for the next decade. (AJ)

4) Philadelphia Eagles - Eric Fisher (OT), Central Michigan: You knew this pick was coming after I talked Fisher up in our Post Combine piece. Philadelphia has got to move on from Jason Peters as a future answer at LT, and even if Peters remains healthy next season Fisher can be plugged in at RT moving Todd Herremans inside to OG where he would be much more effective. (Diego)

5) Detroit Lions - Lane Johnson (OT), Oklahoma : The Lions came crashing back down to earth in 2012 after earning a playoff berth in 2011 ... primarily because starting QB Matthew Stafford spent much of 2012 getting crashed into. Look for the Lions to invest in the future of their offense with Johnson, who should start from day one, improving a marginal offensive front. (AJ)

6) Cleveland Browns - Ezekiel Ansah (DE/OLB), BYU: Cleveland will not be successful making the transition to a 3-4 defense unless they seriously address their pass rushing issues, and converting Jabaal Sheard to OLB doesn't really scream championship. Ansah's lack of experience will become a non-issue as he continues to to develop the raw skills that make him worthy of this top 10 selection, and the potential he brings to this team is much more critical to the Browns' success than adding a #2 CB. (Diego)

7) Arizona Cardinals - Geno Smith (QB), West Virginia: Bruce Arians just swung a trade to nab Carson Palmer as his starting QB ... but Palmer only has a few years left ... especially behind Arizona's line. Even though he isn't the best player available, the Cardinals need a QB of the future ... and in this year's draft, Smith is their best bet. (AJ)

8) Buffalo Bills - Chance Warmack (OG), Alabama: If Geno fell to this spot, Buffalo would run his name to the podium, but he's gone and personally I don't think any QB in this draft is worthy of a top 10 pick (though I agree with AJ's pick). I feel the same way about WR's. Warmack solidifies the Bills' offensive line which may just give Kevin Kolb a chance to succeed up north. (Diego)

9) New York Jets - Barkevious Mingo (OLB), LSU: The Jet defense is in need of a pressure generating pass rusher (among other things)... and Mingo fits the bill. (AJ)

10) Tennessee Titans - Dee Milliner (CB), Alabama: Tennessee ranked 26th in the league last season in opponents' passing yards, so the Titans are thrilled to have a potential #1 CB fall to them. Milliner and Jason McCourty should be a strong 1-2 tandem for Tennessee the next few seasons. (Diego)

11) San Diego Chargers - Jonathan Cooper (G), North Carolina: the Chargers need help up front ... bad. The San Diego O-Line was easily one of the worst units in the game last season. With his combination of balance, agility and footwork, Cooper will pay dividends immediately in the run game, and help keep QB Phillip Rivers off of his back, too. (AJ)

12) San Francisco 49ers (via Miami Dolphins) - Sheldon Richardson (DT), Missouri: San Francisco trades the 31st, 34th, and 74th overall picks to Miami to move up to this spot while also getting the 82nd overall pick in return. The 49ers utilize their arsenal of draft picks to get a much needed bona fide prospect who can play both as a DE in their 3-4 defense as well as inside at DT when San Francisco puts out four linemen (more often than you would think). Richardson's versatile combination of strength, length, and agility should give Jim Tomsula lots of options. (Diego)

13) Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Desmond Trufant (CB), Washington: The Buccaneers' secondary might have been the most ineffective in the NFL last season. To go with newly acquired free agent safety Dashon Goldson, the Bucs reach for the best corner on the board. Trufant should be able to start day one, and will provide immediate improvement for a less than stellar defense. (AJ)

14) Carolina Panthers - Star Lotulelei (DT), Utah: Carolina needs an upgrade at the position, and Lotulelei, who before his heart condition was discussed in the top 5, will certainly provide that for them. He could arguably be a starter for the Panthers by week 1. (Diego)

15) New Orleans Saints - Bjorn Werner (DE/OLB), Florida State: Rob Ryan has been hired to take over the Saints' less than stellar defense ... and given that their biggest need is on that side of the ball, Christmas comes to New Orleans a little early, and Werner falls to the Saints. As a 3 down edge rusher, he should have an immediate impact for the Saints. (AJ)

16) St. Louis Rams - Kenny Vaccaro (S), Texas: St. Louis needs safety help, and Vaccaro is by all accounts the best safety prospect in the draft. If he can live up to his potential then his presence behind Cortland Finnegan and Janoris Jenkins will give the Rams a formidable secondary. (Diego)

17) Pittsburgh Steelers - Cordarelle Patterson (WR), Tennessee: The Steelers lost speedy wideout Mike Wallace this offseason ... but this pick should make life easier for Ben Roethlisberger. Patterson is big, fast, fluid and strong. He'll improve a flagging Steeler receiving corps, and could develop into an elite offensive weapon given time. (AJ)

18) Minnesota Vikings (via Dallas Cowboys) - Tavon Austin )WR, West Virginia: The Vikings trade the 23rd, 102nd, and 155th pick to the Cowboys to move up to this spot and snatch Percy Harvin's replacement, who they will most likely not be able to get drafting behind the Rams. Austin has the potential to be just as good as Harvin without the headaches and, of course, much cheaper. (Diego)

19) New York Giants - Sylvester Williams (DT), North Carolina: In 2012, the Giants gave up the second most yardage in the NFL. They go with Sylvester Williams here to help bolster their front four, and create pressure up front to help out the back end of their defense. They consider going with Xavier Rhodes here, but having already spent a high draft pick on Prince Amukamara recently, they decide to go with a big ugly instead. (AJ)

20) Chicago Bears - D.J. Fluker (OL), Alabama: I don't know a whole lot about Chicago, but I do know that it's really windy over there, that they have very passionate fans all around, and that the Bears's offensive line needs so major upgrades. In comes Fluker, who could make a push to take over as a RT or slide inside to an OG position. Either way he seems like a perfect fit in Chicago. (Diego)

21) Cincinnati Bengals - Jarvis Jones (OLB), Georgia: The Bengals need a noisemaker at OLB, and Jarvis Jones fits the bill. Though spinal stenosis has caused him to fall a bit, this guy led the SEC in sacks ... and that should be good enough for the Bengals. If he plays up to his potential, he has the ability to be absolutely destructive off of the edge. (AJ)

22) St. Louis Rams - Alex Ogletree (LB), Georgia: Although this pick doesn't address the Rams' most pressing need, they shouldn't reach at this spot when Ogletree addresses one of their needs as well. The former 4-star safety recruit, who became a key player as an ILB in Georgia's 3-4 defense, will make the transition to OLB in the Rams' 4-3 defense, pushing Jo-Lonn Dunbar and Rocky McIntosh for a starting gig. (Diego)

23) Dallas Cowboys (via Minnesota Vikings)- Datone Jones (DE), UCLA: With the Cowboys' pending switch to a base 4-3 defense, they'll grab a difference maker at DE. Though Jones' collegiate career has been less than stellar overall, his outstanding senior season coupled with his performance at the Combine make him the best available option at a position of need. (AJ)

24) Indianapolis Colts - Damontre Moore (OLB/DE), Texas A&M: Simple case of best available player at a position of need. Indianapolis must address their lack of pass rush immediately if they want to take the next step in their rise in the AFC, and Moore brings a nice resume to go with his versatility and ability to get to the QB. (Diego)

25) Minnesota Vikings - Cornelius "Tank" Carradine (DE), Florida State: The Vikings were a surprise playoff participant last season, despite some serious issues on both sides of the ball. With the offensive side of the ball addressed earlier in the draft, the Vikings shore up the hole in their front four with Carradine, a very productive edge rusher with a solid skill set, an impressive body of work in college, and a good chance to become a productive NFL defender. (AJ)

26) Green Bay Packers - Eddie Lacy (RB), Alabama: Don't think I'm getting lazy with this pick, Green Bay hasn't had a legitimate presence in the backfield since Ahman Green in the early part of the last decade (sorry Ryan Grant), and their offense is simply too one-dimensional at this time to compete for another Super Bowl run. The Packers get the best running back in the draft to fix this issue. (Diego)

27) Houston Texans - DeAndre Hopkins (WR), Clemson: for the past two seasons, the Texans have advanced to the second round of the playoffs ... and both times, they've fallen apart. With QB set (for now, anyway), an all universe RB, a game breaking WR, and a great defense, it's time for the Texans to add a dimension. In this case, that dimension is a speedy complement to big-play WR Andre Johnson. Hopkins is a bit of a reach here, but the Texans are complete enough to reach for quality ... even in the first round. (AJ)

28) Denver Broncos - Johnathan Hankins (DT), Ohio State: Yes, another player I discussed in that Post Combine piece. Denver needs to re-haul their front line on defense, and Hankins will be a great anchor for them with his ability to play different techniques. (Diego)

29) New England Patriots - Xavier Rhodes (CB), Florida State: The Pats were horrific against the pass last season, ranking 31st in the NFL. They look to shore up their secondary with Rhodes, who has a very solid skill set and enough talent to start immediately. (AJ)

30) Atlanta Falcons - Tyler Eifert (TE), Notre Dame: Atlanta's biggest need is pass rush, but I'm not going to reach for a pass rusher here and although I considered a trade down with another team I can't see the Falcons going that route either. Tony Gonzalez coming back is great for them, but they need to start planning for his soon farewell to the league and Eifert will be a great replacement for him when that time comes, and form a nice 1-2 tandem with Gonzalez in the meantime. (Diego)

31) Miami Dolphins (via San Francisco 49ers) - Jamar Taylor (CB), Boise State: With the departure of Sean Smith, the Dolphins are looking for help at CB. Need wins out here, and with a solid body of work, a great combine and a solid mix of speed, size and strength Taylor should be able to full that need nicely. He's a bit of a reach at #31, but is the best corner on the board at this point. (AJ)

32) Baltimore Ravens - Manti Te'o (LB), Notre Dame: While the popular pick here would be a safety, Te'o at this point in the draft represents a tremendous value at a position where Baltimore lost both their starters to free agency (Dannell Ellerbe) and retirement (Ray Lewis). Te'o may be able to become the next young leader for the Ravens' linebackers for the next few years. (Diego)

Have at it ...

Follow us on twitter! @USMCLegbreaker & @DiegoDelBarco

Disclaimer

We enjoy your comments, however please be advised that personally attacking people instead of their point of view will not be tolerated.

Thanks
The views within this article are those of the writer and, while just as important, are not necessarily those of the site as a whole.


27 Comments

  • Lucky Phil
    AJ you are a wise man! We agree on Elam and Hunt, but I still think Lev Bell is a better running back than Lattimore even when healthy. I hope Marcus comes back better than ever though. Picking Latt in the latter rds. could be a Gore type steal. Where's the Rabbit? Tell him to come out of the hole and make a comment! Just kidding Diego, you guys have a good weekend.
    Apr 20, 2013 at 8:23 AM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Have a great weekend amigo!
  • Kate
    AJ.. what about Sharrif Floyd? Thought the Niners were high on him. And Bennie Logan in a lower round? DT from LSU with high ceiling.
    Apr 16, 2013 at 4:44 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) I love Floyd. I think he's going to be amazing...but he's gone by pick #3. The 49ers just won't be in a position to pick him.
  • Kate from Colma
    Richardson = Bust Immature bad attitude
    Apr 16, 2013 at 1:44 PM
    0
  • Kate from Colma
    Im from Missouri and would LOVE to see the MU Tiger tradition at DT continue. Justin Smith and Aldon Smith are both from MU. However..word is that Richardson has an attitude problem and might be a bust kinda guy. He is a one year wonder and considered immature. Not worth trading away all those picks!
    Apr 16, 2013 at 1:02 PM
    0
  • Andra
    Richardson is not worth moving up in the draft for he is very weak at the POA and that was with just one man blocking him . I am not a big Hankins fan but he holds his ground way better against double coverage and you could probably have him at 31 or 34
    Apr 14, 2013 at 10:01 PM
    0
  • Lucky Phil
    AJ & Diego, enjoyed reading your mock up. But I gotta be honest the only interest I have in reading the mock drafts, and I have read a few is trying to project what players the niners can get where in the draft. The players I hope the niners get with their first five picks is Elam. Hunt. Terrance Willaims. L Bell and T. Kelce. With the picks we already have should be managable with a trade or two. I am curious AJ and Diego, rather than project who we pick who would you pick if you were Baalke with our first five picks?
    Apr 13, 2013 at 12:18 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Great to hear from you, Phil! There are guys that I really want to be 49ers. The guys that I really hope to see in Red & Gold next season are as follows (not necessarily in the order they 'll be drafted): Matt Elam, Margus Hunt, Zack Ertz, Corey Lemonier, Marcus Lattimore and Chris Harper. In my estimation, each could be a difference maker on this team. Ertz is a ready made #2 TE. Hunt has all the tools to be very good. Elam is the best coverage safety available. Lemonier is a solid edge rusher. Lattimore is a Frank Gore clone. And Harper is big, fast and physical....just what we need at WR.
  • Mike Kenney
    This is the kind of trade a Super Bowl team with only a few holes needs to make. J Smith is a legend. Not only will he eventually have to step aside, without some relief, it will be sooner rather than later.
    Apr 12, 2013 at 5:38 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Nicely put!
  • TJ
    I LOVE the Richardson pick! Missouri has been good to the 9ers D. It is not about quantity, it's about quality.
    Apr 12, 2013 at 4:58 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Bingo. Richardson has a good chance to be a special player at the next level.
  • moose
    Hi Diego, Geno Smith will prob be taken in the first,but gosh what a stretch. I do have some nfl connections with talent evaluations. Geno smith and Teo are not considered first round grades!Also Pattersons stock is sinking a bit and after his pro day so is Lacy. Your cb call is I think right on mark.
    Apr 12, 2013 at 1:19 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Agree that Smith is a stretch in the first round...but there are QB hungry teams out thee that will reach for him.
  • rick
    No way guys, no way. Richardson is a talented guy but you would go for Star in that pick. 31 and 34 hold too much value. I would be all defense with the first 3 picks cripren 31, dt jenkins or williams 34, and hunt or jones if there are still there, defense is our pressing need we need a center fielder in the outfield and pressure in the trenches, not to mention rotational players on the line. As long we can provide pressure this year we should be ok, the best way is keeping everyone fresh. 3-7 rounds we can get a tight end, center, wr, and so on...
    Apr 12, 2013 at 12:56 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Thanks for reading, Rick. I respectfully disagree on Richardson. He's big, fast, long armed, and is a perfect fit for the 49ers defense. Star is a big guy with a heart condition...and given the number of snaps SF likes to get out of its big uglies, he's not an ideal fit as a 3 down DL.
  • moose
    Good job on your draft,we all can pick it apart....but who knowsI do not see geno smith and teo as a first round grade.I also think Vaccaro is to high,there is not much of a drop between him and the next 5 best safeties. Good call on rhodes...end of first is correct. Could the NIners surprise us on draft day? Could it be offense first?
    Apr 12, 2013 at 8:01 AM
    0
    Response: (Diego) Thanks. You really don't see Geno Smith being taken in the 1st round?
  • Ladale
    There is a real possibility the 9ers trade out of the 1st round all together for a 1st rounder next season and then in a position to dominate the 2nd and 3rd round. There are a lot of quality players who will fall to the 2nd round with unexpected Q.B's, Receivers, and even running backs dominating the latter part of the 1st round. Skill players are still a premium believe or not, they help coaches keep their jobs on mere potential and every now and again highlights. A lot of these defensive guys will fall to the second and maybe third round. It's a passing league still and you want ticket sellers, not guys who will be around to make the next guy look great when they can your @&&.
    Apr 12, 2013 at 5:04 AM
    0
    Response: (Diego) I can see that happening too
  • VaNiner
    Moving up to get Sheldon Richardson makes no sense given the depth at defensive line in this draft. And moving up to pass on Star Lotulelei or Sylvester Williams or Tank Carradine or Datone Jones or any of the other DL's who have higher motors don't make any sense. If SF moves up, then the value is in getting either Dee Milner.
    Apr 12, 2013 at 3:56 AM
    0
    Response: (Diego) So people REALLY dislike Richardson? You rank him behind Sy, Tank, and Datone?
  • greywolf447
    According to this mock draft you are willing to give up our first 3 picks for Sheldon Richardson and pass on Star. Arguably the best player in the draft and diffidently the best player at his position. I do not see Baalke giving up that much for the 3rd or 4th best player at his position. Especially with Star still on the board. Truthfully I am not sold on Sheldon. Why do the niners need to get all their DL from Missouri.
    Apr 12, 2013 at 1:16 AM
    0
  • RishikeshA
    Diego you can't fool me, you want to see three Missouri guys lined up along the D-line, Justin, Aldon, Sheldon.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 9:17 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) But ... I am a Cal fan (GO BEARS)
  • Rascal
    I am sorry guys, not a fan of it at all. If you want to trade all the way up to 12th, don't take a DT, take a top shelf offensive playmaker. Why ? There are a couple of "sure win" picks at the top of the draft this year who can contribute right away and help you win games. For most, that player would be Tavon Austin, but I would take Cordarrelle Patterson any day of the week and twice on the weekend. But, that is besides the point, the cost of trading up in this case is just too much. We don't need to be that extreme. Not having that 34th pick will be costly. For me, I am going all out on the offensive side of the ball in going with a "win now" strategy. So, I would have just kept the original picks and gone for Justin Hunter at 31st, Zach Ertz at 34th and may be trade up the 61st if needed to get David Amerson. That's just me, but if we had to go give priorty to the defensive side of the ball first, at most I would go with Eric Reid at 31st, Zach Ertz at 34th and a WR at 61st (not sure who yet if Justin Hunter is gone).
    Apr 11, 2013 at 8:45 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Rascal, as I've stated previously, I think Austin is overrated. He's smallish, and that will show up at the next level. I like Patterson...but there are quality offensive options at WR that will be around on Day 2 (See Chris Harper, WR, K State).
  • Daniners
    Just play with the point system using any of the picks except 34...you can come up with several scenarios with 13 picks. Next, consider a next year pick in mix, remember they will likely replace any loss with trading back in the 2nd, 3rd and 4th.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 7:55 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) you're not giving me credit for having spent the time trying to come up with something that doesn't involve the 34th pick. Believe me, I tried. I didn't use next year's picks because I didn't want to assume where we (or the Dolphins) would pick.
  • Albert P.
    I like your mock drafy but not too sure they could move up without giving up more picks remember we need some 1 to take over D. Goldson place! GO NINERS
    Apr 11, 2013 at 7:05 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Well Albert, Cyprien, Reid and Elam should all be around in the 2nd. The difference between those 3 and Vacarro isn't all that big.
  • Daniners
    You lost me witht he Niner trade. First, there is zero chance they will give up both the 31st and 34th. Won't happen and they dont need it to. They can package a far different, less hurtful combination.. Next, they will not move up for Richardson. There are only a couple guys they will consider moving up that far for and it is not Richardson. I see Rhodes, Vacarro, or Austin as considerations. The gap between the #1 DT and #5 is not great enough. The gap between Rhodes and the third best CB is, the gap between Vacarro and the #2 safety is, and the gap between Austin and anyone else in the draft is huge(because there is nothing else like him in the draft). If they move up my pick remains Austin. When you have 13 picks you go after the most impactful player in the draft. BTW, I don't see them moving up for Star either.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 7:04 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) for argument's sake, assuming they would trade up to 12, help me find a "far different, less hurtful combination".
  • Monsterniner
    Nice to see you around here AJ and Rabbit and well, what do you think about trading up for Kenny Vaccaro?
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:57 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) Actually, if he slipped down to the 20's range (assuming we didn't trade up, of course), I might just be ok with that.
  • zach ameen
    I have lost faith in Baalke after he picked A J Jenkins in a first round and other picks which didn't even contribute last year. He let go of TE Coby fleener and some other quality players in a favor of Jenkins. He is still trying to justify it instead of admitting that Jenkins was a mistake. We will find out in coming season that how his picks will do in professional football.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:50 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Zach, have a little faith in Baalke. Remember, he also was the guy responsible for Iupati, Davis, Aldon Smith, Bruce Miller, Kendall Hunter, LMJ and free agents like Carlos Rogers, Donte Whitner and Anquan Boldin. Baalke is a stud GM. Seriously.
  • mbniner
    I think that the Niners will move up to get someone they want, but not that far. I don't think that they want to part with pick 34. I can see them moving into the 20 to 28 spot from 31. Sheldon may even be there in the late 1st round.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:50 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) AJ and I discussed working a different trade (we both had to approve any trades) but this one fit the value chart nicely. I would like to see them trade into the low 20's if he's still on the board, but I doubt he will.
  • moose
    Te'o in round one...........way to high. Mid 2nd at best
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:32 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) Why?
  • ce
    i agree, if the niners move up that far.. its for star or tavon austin
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:27 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Personally, I think Austin is overrated. He's fast...but he's also small, and played in a collegiate offense that featured him as a #1 playing out of the slot. I don't think he'll be able to be an every down difference maker in the NFL. I just don't think he has the frame to take a beating every down, every game for 16 weeks. As for Star...he's a big guy with a questionable ticker. That's troubling to say the least.
  • moose
    No way, 2nd and 3rd rounders are the heart of this draft.At the most jump to the low 2os for the player they covet.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:26 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) SF would still have 3 picks between 61 and 93. What did you think of the rest of the draft?
  • Danimal
    I think there's a several flaws in your Mock. #7 - I don't think Cardinals are going to grab a QB with #7 overall. It's pretty much a consensus that no QB is worthy of a top 10 pick, or even a top 20 pick for that matter. Although the Cardinals could reach based on need, I think it's much more likely that they'll wait until the 2nd (possibly trade up) and get someone like Barkley, EJ Manuel, or Nassib. And get BPA at #7. #12 - SF front office cherishes our top draft picks too much to trade a 1st, early 2nd, and 3rd rounder for just 1 player. Sheldon Richardson is a good player, but it's not worth the value of 3 potential future starters. If we trade up in the first, it'll likely be maybe a late 3rd or our 4th rounder, to move up 3-7 spots to ensure they get "their guy", as they did with Anthony Davis a couple years ago. #14 - No way Star Loutelei lasts until #14. He is one of the best DLine prospects in the entire draft, and his heart is now reportedly fine after further testing. And if the 49ers were to trade up, it'd be much more likely for Star rather than Sheldon. I don't think Star leaves the top 10. #29 - Don't think Xavier Rhodes lasts that long either.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:09 PM
    0
    Response: (AJ) Thanks for writing Danimal. I'll give you my thoughts on each of your points: 1) I agree that there is no QB in the draft worthy of a top 10 pick. That stated, new coaches mean new QBs...and I think we can both agree that Carson Palmer is a stopgap at best. Smith presents is the most polished of this year's passers...and in the NFC West, you've got to have a QB...or a QB of the future, anyway. I think Arians will reach early. Just a hunch. 2) While I agree that the price is high, I also think that Richardson is a guy that the 49ers could use immediately. His build, motor, and skill set are almost perfect for the 49er defense. Is a trade up that high unlikely? Maybe. But is it possible for a player that has the potential to be the next star on the 49ers d-line? Sure. 3) As it pertains to Loutelei, I think his heart condition is on every team's mind. He's a big guy, and if the 49ers were going to pick a big ugly in a trade up, would the really reach for a kid w/a heart condition given the inordinately high number of snaps they'd likely ask him to play? Just a thought. 4) Prior to the trade up, I had Rhodes going to Miami. He's a great player...but every time I thought of who to pick with my selections, there just seemed to be a better fit for the team in question. At the end of the day, this is just an exercise to inspire discussion and debate. So while your points have merit, hopefully you have a little more insight into where we're coming from.
  • NOno
    If the Niners move up that far up, it will be for Dion Jordan, Star Lotulelei, Xavier Rhodes or Jarvis Jones, not for a guy like Sheldon R. that isn't self motivated and only started 1 year.
    Apr 11, 2013 at 5:02 PM
    0
    Response: (Diego) If it makes you feel any better I did consider Lotulelei ...

Facebook Comments



More San Francisco 49ers News



George Kittle talks 49ers offense, Jimmy Garoppolo whispers, playing Patriots for the first time

By David Bonilla
Oct 19, 2020

San Francisco 49ers tight end George Kittle joined The Rich Eisen Show on Monday. Here are four 49ers-related topics he discussed during the phone interview as his team prepares to face the New England Patriots on Sunday. Kittle on the Deion Sanders-style into-the-end-zone celebration (pictured above) against the Los Angeles Rams "We were in the throwbacks. Got to pay a little respect. … Just had a little bit of fun, man. It's something about those all-white throwbacks. They get you all excited." Kittle on the offense starting to gel "I think there's still a lot of mistakes for us to correct, but our overall confidence as an offensive unit, like playing together, 11 guys working towards

Read the Full Article


49ers trade late-round draft pick to Jets for Jordan Willis

By David Bonilla
Oct 21, 2020

The San Francisco 49ers have traded for 25-year-old New York Jets outside linebacker Jordan Willis, according to Tom Pelissero of NFL Network. Trade! The #Jets are sending OLB Jordan Willis to the #49ers, per source.— Tom Pelissero (@TomPelissero) October 21,

Read the Full Article


Film From the Field House: How the 49ers' Offense Can Build Upon Success Against the Patriots

By Bret Rumbeck
Oct 24, 2020

San Francisco 49ers' head coach Kyle Shanahan and I probably have very little in common, except a critical Xennial lesson learned in the late 1980s: if the game isn't working, take it out of the console and blow on it. The 49ers' offense was in dire need of a reset going into Week 6 against the Los Angeles Rams. There has been little sync and fluidity, except for the two wins against both wretched franchises from New York. Here's how the 49ers can take the right parts of their win, along with areas that need improvement, and springboard into Week 7. Use Tempo and Short Plays to Build Garoppolo's Confidence 1st Quarter - 1st and 10 at the LAR 24

Read the Full Article

Featured

More Featured Stories

More by These Writers

All Articles by Diego Del Barco All Articles by AJ Bolino

More Articles

All Articles
Share 49erswebzone