San Francisco 49ers head coach Kyle Shanahan edges names like Bill Belichick and Sean McVay as the betting favorite to be named NFL Coach of the Year, according to OddsShark.

Below is a list of the ten head coaches favored to earn the annual honor.

Kyle Shanahan (+1000)
Freddie Kitchens (+1100)
Sean McVay (+1200)
Bill Belichick (+1200)
Frank Reich (+1400)
Sean Payton (+1400)
Andy Reid (+1400)
Doug Pederson (+1600)
Matt LaFleur (+2000)
Matt Nagy (+2000)

Shanahan is entering his third season as the 49ers head coach and has won just 10 games during his tenure in San Francisco. His teams, however, have been devastated by injuries over the past two seasons, including the loss of starting quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo during Week 3 last year.

The 49ers finished with a 4-12 record last season but will be getting several injured players, including Garoppolo, back. The team also improved its defensive line by adding pass rushers Dee Ford and Nick Bosa, created a deep group of running backs with the addition of Tevin Coleman, and drafted two wide receivers in Deebo Samuel and Jalen Hurd.

Most expect the 49ers to reach and possibly even surpass the .500 mark for the first time since 2014 with some even seeing the squad as a potential playoff contender. Much of that has to do not only with the returning and added talent, but with Shanahan, who is widely considered to be one of the brightest young offensive minds in football.

The 49ers open exhibition play on Saturday at Levi's Stadium against the Dallas Cowboys and the regular season on September 8 in Tampa, Florida, where they will play the Buccaneers.