Ed Szczepanski-USA TODAY Sports

Ed Szczepanski-USA TODAY Sports

Four 49ers, two current players, named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2010s

Apr 6, 2020 at 9:46 AM--

Four San Francisco 49ers players, including two players on the current roster, have been named to the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 2010s. The NFL and the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Monday morning announced the 52 players who comprise the roster.

The two current 49ers players who make up the roster are veteran tackle Joe Staley and cornerback Richard Sherman. Although, the latter spent the majority of his pro career as a member of the Seattle Seahawks.

They are joined by two former players — running back Frank Gore and linebacker Patrick Willis.

The quarterbacks for the All-Decade team are Tampa Bay Buccaneers and longtime New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, a unanimous choice among voters, and Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers.

Staley is a six-time Pro Bowl player who is preparing (assuming he doesn't retire) to enter his 14th NFL season. The 49ers made him the No. 28 overall selection in the 2007 draft.

Sherman is entering his third season with the 49ers. Before that, he spent seven seasons with the rival Seahawks. He has been named to five Pro Bowls, including this past season's, and is a three-time first-team All-Pro.

Gore, a free agent, is hoping to catch on with a team for his 16th NFL season. He ranks third in NFL history with 15,347 rushing yards, behind just Emmitt Smith and Walter Payton. The future Hall of Famer, who spent his first 10 NFL seasons with the 49ers, has been selected to five Pro Bowls over his illustrious career.

Gore recently cast his vote for the ultimate sports duo, which included himself and his former 49ers teammate, Staley.

Willis spent eight seasons with the 49ers, the team that drafted him No. 11 overall the same year as Staley, before retiring. He was named to seven consecutive Pro Bowls (2007-13), is a five-time first-team All-Pro, and was named the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2007.


* denotes a unanimous selection


QB Tom Brady*
QB Aaron Rodgers
RB Frank Gore
RB Marshawn Lynch
RB LeSean McCoy
RB Adrian Peterson*
WR Antonio Brown
WR Larry Fitzgerald
WR Calvin Johnson
WR Julio Jones
FLEX Darren Sproles
TE Rob Gronkowski
TE Travis Kelce
OT Jason Peters
OT Tyron Smith
OT Joe Staley
OT Joe Thomas*
OG Jahri Evans
OG Logan Mankins
OG Zack Martin
OG Marshal Yanda*
C Alex Mack
C Maurkice Pouncey


DE Calais Campbell
DE Cameron Jordan
DE Julius Peppers
DE J.J. Watt*
DT Geno Atkins
DT Fletcher Cox
DT Aaron Donald*
DT Ndamukong Suh
LB Chandler Jones
LB Luke Kuechly
LB Khalil Mack
LB Von Miller*
LB Bobby Wagner
LB Patrick Willis
CB Patrick Peterson
CB Darrelle Revis
CB Richard Sherman
S Eric Berry
S Earl Thomas
S Eric Weddle
DB Chris Harris Jr.
DB Tyrann Mathieu


P Johnny Hekker
P Shane Lechler
K Stephen Gostkowski
K Justin Tucker*
PR Tyreek Hill
PR Darren Sproles
KR Devin Hester
KR Cordarrelle Patterson


Bill Belichick
Pete Carroll

Related News

More San Francisco 49ers News

49ers' George Kittle, Nick Bosa named among Bleacher Report's top 50 NFL players

By David Bonilla
Sep 11, 2020

Three of Bleacher Report's analysts — Brad Gagnon, Brent Sobleski, and Gary Davenport — compiled a list of the top 50 NFL players heading into the 2020 season. Two San Francisco 49ers were named to the list. The first to represent the Niners is second-year pass rusher Nick Bosa, who comes in at No. 42. "Nick Bosa proved unblockable at times along the San Francisco 49ers' talented defensive front," wrote Bleacher Report. "No other rookie came close to the 80 pressures he generated last season, according to Pro Football Focus. Last year's No. 2 overall pick is well on his way to superstardom and will get there if he

Read the Full Article

Brink's Best Bets: 49ers at Jets and All NFL Week 2 Predictions

By Gilbert Brink
Sep 15, 2020

Week 1 of the NFL season is generally a crap shoot. My picks for Week 1 were a good example of that, an even 8-8. Each week I will cover my best and worst picks from the prior week and pick the upcoming games. Let's get into it. Season Record: 8-8 49ers Record: 0-1 Best & Worst Picks of Week 1 My Best Pick: Jaguars over Colts 34-30 Final Score: Jaguars over Colts 27-20 My Worst Pick: Cowboys 45 - Rams 20 Final Score: Rams 20- Cowboys 17 Week 2 Predictions Bengals @ Browns (-6) - Burrow's better than Baker, but who isn't? Bengals 23 - Browns

Read the Full Article

Two GMFB hosts have the 49ers missing the playoffs this season

By David Bonilla
Sep 8, 2020

Peter Schrager, Kyle Brandt, and Nate Burleson of Good Morning Football each made their NFC playoff predictions on Tuesday. Only one of them — Schrager — had the San Francisco 49ers making the playoffs. You read that right. I'm not talking about winning the NFC West. Two of the three didn't even have Kyle Shanahan's squad playing in the postseason. Now, there's your hot take for the day. The 49ers are the defending NFC champions and are coming off of a Super Bowl appearance. Schrager recently called San Francisco one of the most disrespected conference champions in recent memory. Schrager has two NFC

Read the Full Article


More Featured Stories

Trending News

More News
Share 49erswebzone