Former San Francisco 49ers wide receiver Terrell Owens is a finalist for the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame class while running back Roger Craig was once again denied.

While this year is Owens' third consecutive as a finalist, he has never been among the top 10 candidates, according to past reports by NBC Sports Bay Area. The final list of inductees will be chosen from the finalists by a 48-member selection committee on the day before Super Bowl 52 in Minneapolis.

Owens, who was drafted by San Francisco in the third round of the 1996 NFL Draft, was with the 49ers from 1996 until 2003. He also spent time with the Philadelphia Eagles, Dallas Cowboys, Buffalo Bills, and Cincinnati Bengals.

The six-time Pro Bowler and five-time first-team All-Pro has 1,078 career receptions for 15,934 yards and 153 touchdowns.

Two other wide receivers who spent brief times with the 49ers, Randy Moss and Isaac Bruce, are finalists. Moss was in San Francisco during the 2012 season while Bruce was with the team in 2008 and 2009.

Also among this year's list of finalists is current 49ers general manager John Lynch, who was an NFL safety with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Denver Broncos. Lynch was hired by the 49ers last January and joined in February by new head coach Kyle Shanahan.

Craig failed to make the list of finalists in his final year of eligibility as a modern-era player. He will still be eligible as a senior candidate. Craig is a three-time Super Bowl champion, was selected to the Pro Bowl four times, and a first-team All-Pro in 1988. In 1985, he had over 1,000 yards both rushing and receiving.

Craig's omission from the Pro Football Hall of Fame has been a longtime snub in the opinions of the Niner Faithful.

Another candidate with a 49ers connection is Bobby Beathard, a long-time NFL executive who is a contributor finalist. He is the grandfather of 49ers quarterback C.J. Beathard.

Below is a list of the 2018 finalists, courtesy of Pro Football Talk.

Tony Boselli, Tackle, 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars

Isaac Bruce, Wide Receiver, 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers

Brian Dawkins, Safety, 1996-2008 Philadelphia Eagles, 2009-2011 Denver Broncos

Alan Faneca, Guard, 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

Steve Hutchinson, Guard, 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans

Joe Jacoby, Tackle, 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Edgerrin James, Running Back, 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

Ty Law, Cornerback, 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos

Ray Lewis, Linebacker, 1996-2012 Baltimore Ravens

John Lynch, Free Safety, 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Kevin Mawae, Center, 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans

Randy Moss, Wide Receiver, 1998-2004, 2010 Minnesota Vikings, 2005-06 Oakland Raiders, 2007-2010 New England Patriots, 2010 Tennessee Titans, 2012 San Francisco 49ers

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver, 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Brian Urlacher, Linebacker, 2000-2012 Chicago Bears

Everson Walls, Cornerback, 1981-89 Dallas Cowboys, 1990-92 New York Giants, 1992-93 Cleveland Browns

Related News