Redskins fans: Thoughts on Carlos Rogers

Aug 1, 2011 at 9:15 AM--


After losing out on all but one starting calibre cornerback in free agency, the San Francisco 49ers are left with Carlos Rogers, formerly of the Redskins.

Rich Tandler's Read Redskins blog had this to say about the cornerback back in April.

Other than anyone playing the quarterback position, no Redskins player generates as much polarizing discussion as cornerback Carlos Rogers. Some--I would say most--are so anxious to get the free agent to be out of town that they would help him pack his house and drive the moving van to his new home. Others are concerned about another hole being blown in the defense if Rogers departs.

Back in April, Rich Tandler and Ryan O'Halloran debated the question of whether or not to retain Rogers.

Rich Tandler: I'm not one of those who gets on Carlos about his hands of stone. I've always said that you drop a potential interception, you were in the right place at the right time. Rogers is not a shutdown corner but he's a very good one. Still, he's going to be 30 before the season starts and a team that is looking to rebuild and get younger should think long and hard before signing a cornerback who is that age to what will be a pricey deal.

Read the whole debate





More San Francisco 49ers News



49ers announce 13 training camp practices, make tickets available to fans

By David Bonilla
Jul 23, 2021

The San Francisco 49ers made tickets to 13 training camp practices available to fans, including an August 7 practice at Levi's Stadium which has been declared "Dwight Clark Day." Below is the upcoming practice schedule. Players are scheduled to report to Santa Clara on Tuesday. Each practice is scheduled for 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. PT, which is subject to change. 2021 49ers Training Camp Schedule Wednesday, July 28 Thursday, July 29 Friday, July 30 Saturday, July 31 Monday, August 2 Tuesday, August 3 Wednesday, August 4 Friday, August 6 Saturday, August 7 (Dwight Clark Day) Sunday, August 8 Tuesday, August 10 Wednesday, August


Featured

Trending News

Share 49ersWebzone