Former NFL wide receiver Terrell Owens has announced the plans for his Hall of Fame speech, which will take place in the McKenzie Arena at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga at 3:17 p.m. on Saturday, August 4. The event will be free and open to the public.

The scheduled date for Owens' speech takes place on the same day as the official enshrinement ceremony put on by the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

"I'm proud to be a Moc, and I'm honored to be able to share this experience with my family, friends, teammates and fans at the place that provided me an opportunity beyond high school and where I truly began to find myself as an athlete," wrote Owens via the statement below on Twitter. "Thank you to everyone who has supported my celebration decision. I look forward to seeing you all in Chattanooga."

Owens announced last month that he would not be in attendance with the rest of the Class of 2018 when it enters the Pro Football Hall of Fame next month. It was a decision that Hall of Fame President and CEO David Baker called "unprecedented."

RELATED Steve Young, ESPN analysts beg Terrell Owens to reconsider Hall of Fame decision

"While I am incredibly appreciative of this opportunity, I have made the decision to publicly decline my invitation to attend the induction ceremony in Canton," Owens said via a statement on June 7. "I have already shared this information with the Hall. After visiting Canton earlier this year, I came to the realization that I wish to celebrate what will be one of the most memorable days of my life, elsewhere."

The six-time Pro Bowler and five-time first-team All-Pro registered 1,078 career receptions for 15,934 yards and 153 touchdowns. He ranks eighth all-time in receptions, is second only to Jerry Rice in all-time receiving yards, ranks third in all-time receiving touchdowns, and ranks fifth among all NFL players in touchdowns.

The San Francisco 49ers made Owens a third-round draft pick in 1996. He remained with the team until 2003 and went on to play for the Philadelphia Eagles, Dallas Cowboys, Buffalo Bills, and Cincinnati Bengals.

Related News