Former NFL wide receiver Terrell Owens, who was selected for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame with this year's class, has announced that he will not be in attendance for the induction festivities or the enshrinement ceremony.

The enshrinement ceremony will be Aug. 4 in Canton, Ohio.

"I am so grateful for all of the support my family, friends, and certainly my fans, have shown me throughout my entire career in the National Football League," Owens said on Thursday via a statement on Twitter. "When it was announced that I was going to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the response received from my fans was overwhelming, and I am truly humbled. I am honored to be included among this group of fellow inducted individuals.

"While I am incredibly appreciative of this opportunity, I have made the decision to publicly decline my invitation to attend the induction ceremony in Canton. I have already shared this information with the Hall. After visiting Canton earlier this year, I came to the realization that I wish to celebrate what will be one of the most memorable days of my life, elsewhere. At a later date, I will announce where and when I will celebrate my induction.

"I would also like to thank the San Francisco 49ers, the Philadelphia Eagles, the Dallas Cowboys, the Buffalo Bills and the Cincinnati Bengals for the time I was granted with each organization. I am thankful for the relationships forged and the lessons learned while part of each team.

"I wish to congratulate all past, current and future inductees. It is quite an honor to be part of such elite company. This honor is something that I will cherish forever."

Owens, who was drafted by San Francisco in the third round of the 1996 NFL Draft, was with the 49ers until 2003. He also spent time with the Philadelphia Eagles, Dallas Cowboys, Buffalo Bills, and Cincinnati Bengals.

The six-time Pro Bowler and five-time first-team All-Pro registered 1,078 career receptions for 15,934 yards and 153 touchdowns. Owens ranks eighth all-time in receptions and is second only to Jerry Rice in all-time receiving yards. He also ranks third in all-time receiving touchdowns and fifth among all NFL players in touchdowns.

Hall of Fame President and CEO David Baker responded via a statement to Owens' decision.

"We are disappointed but will respect Terrell's decision not to participate in the Enshrinement," Baker said. "While unprecedented, the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the nearly 5,000 volunteers and the entire community are committed to celebrating the excellence of the Class of 2018 that will kick off the NFL's 99th season."

Baker went on to state that they don't want Owens' absence to overshadow the inductions for the rest of the Class of 2018 and the Pro Football Hall of Fame will have no further comment on the former receiver's "unprecedented" decision.

The other inductees, Randy Moss, Ray Lewis, Brian Urlacher, Brian Dawkins, Robert Brazile, Jerry Kramer, and Bobby Beathard, are expected to take part in the festivities.

H/T to Pro Football Talk for the statement from Baker.

Related News