Only three of the first 53 teams that have lost a Super Bowl have returned to win a title the next season. That history is now relevant for the 49ers, who in 2020 will attempt to join the 2018 Patriots, 1972 Dolphins and 1971 Cowboys as the only Super Bowl runners-up who claimed the Vince Lombardi Trophy the following year.