As a finalist, San Francisco 49ers general manager John Lynch was in Minneapolis, Minnesota this weekend to await word if he would become part of the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018. While awaiting word within his hotel room on Saturday, Lynch received a phone call rather than a knock at the door. That means his Hall of Fame wait will continue.

The Class of 2018 includes former 49ers wide receivers Randy Moss and Terrell Owens, linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher, safety Brian Dawkins, offensive lineman Jerry Kramer, linebacker Robert Brazile, and former NFL executive Bobby Beathard.

This was Lynch's fifth-straight year as a Hall of Fame finalist. While he was disappointed, the 49ers general manager offered congratulations to those voted into the class.

Before he became the 49ers general manager or was an analyst on FOX, Lynch played free safety for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1993 until 2003 and then for the Denver Broncos from 2004 until 2007. He was a nine-time Pro Bowl selection over the course of his 15-year NFL career. During that time, Lynch registered 1,051 combined tackles, 26 interceptions, 13 sacks, and 16 forced fumbles, according to ESPN.

RELATED Former 49ers receivers Terrell Owens, Randy Moss voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Lynch is a member of both the Denver Broncos Ring of Fame and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Ring of Honor. He followed up his playing career by entering the FOX broadcast booth as a color commentator for NFL games from 2008 through 2016.

Lynch was hired by the 49ers in January of 2017 to be the team's new general manager. Head coach Kyle Shanahan soon joined him. Last year, the two built a roster that started the season by losing nine consecutive games. However, the 49ers finished as one of the hotter teams in the NFL and went on to win six of their final seven games, including three consecutive wins against playoff teams (Titans, Jaguars, Rams).

During the voting process, Lynch's name was among those eliminated when the list was narrowed down to 10 players, according to NBC Sports Bay Area. The list of inductees was determined by a 48-member selection committee in Minneapolis.