This was in 2010 when Ishikawa slid home vs the Mets and was called out.... cost us a game.
It will be a full year until the next ESPYs are handed out, which is something for which we all can be thankful. But by this time next year, the self-proclaimed Worldwide Leader in Sports may want to add another category to its list of awards:
Most egregious blown call by an umpire.
Phil Cuzzi may be the leader in the umpire's room after Sunday. Unlike Jim Joyce's gaffe in Armando Galarraga's imperfect game, or Gary Cederstrom's admittedly blown strike call in a late-game, bases-loaded spot, Cuzzi's mess-up directly cost a team a victory.
Several camera angles indicated that Travis Ishikawa scored the winning run with one out in the bottom of the ninth inning Sunday, when he slid under the tag of Mets catcher Henry Blanco with one out. If the accompanying photo or video aren't proof enough, consider Blanco's assessment of the play:
This fan site is dedicated to the 49ers and their fans. It is in no way affiliated with the NFL or any of its teams. All teams and players mentioned on this site are registered trademarks of the NFL. The use of any team names, words, trademarks, logos or photos have been used for descriptive purposes only. The content and information from other sites is the property of their respective owners. Player and team photos used with permission from USA TODAY Sports Images.