LISTEN: Are The 49ers Showing Their Hand? →

There are 273 users in the forums

Why did the 49ers struggle so much against GB in the 90's?

Shop Find 49ers gear online
I'm a huge student of the game and really became a fan of the 90's 49ers, and of course, Steve Young.

I was just a small child in the 90's, so I don't remember a lot from that period and didn't have a great knowledge of the game.

Why do you guys think the 49ers struggled with the Packers so much in the mid-90's?
Was it:

A. Lack of a running game
B. Poor calls by the referees (JJ Stokes being forced out, Don Beebe play, etc.)
C. Favre shredding our defense

And a side note, which 1990's -- outside of the Super Bowl winning team -- do you think was the best 49ers team?
because the packers used under-inflated balls.
They were a very good team. Well balanced, well coached and with a huge home field advantage. With Watters we could have stayed with them but when he took the money and ran we couldn't replace him until Garrison. Look at the line of backs we tried. It wasn't for want of trying.

Then the salary cap started biting deeper, we got unlucky (Young) and then you get into a downwards spiral.
On paper, it was the 1997 team.

That defense was insane. Chris Doleman, Bryant Young, Dana Stubblefield, Roy Barker, Ken Norton Jr., Gary Plummer, Lee Woodall, with Kevin Greene rotating in, Rod Woodson, Tim McDonald, Merton Hanks, Darnell Walker.

I swear, GB and Dallas have stolen like 5 SB's from us.
[ Edited by Niners99 on May 23, 2015 at 1:53 AM ]
I'm probably not the best to comment, but I would say Favre, he seemed to have our number, even when he went to Minnesota, he beat us on a last second pass in the endzone. Plus man Lambeau field was such a hard place to win IMO.
'90s*
Originally posted by AB81Rules: