Originally posted by AmpLee:
I must not be explaining myself correctly. I believe the Niners ought to have taken over from the spot the player punched the ball forward, not where the ball went out of bounds 20 yards downfield.
And I'm trying to explain to you why they can't, but I must not be making myself clear enough.
On a punt, the change of possession doesn't occur until
A) A player of the receiving team catches the ball
B) The ball touches a member of the receiving team and is recovered by the kicking team.
On a blocked punt, the ball is live the minute it is touched by the player, on the receiving team, and the rules regarding a fumble go into effect.
Since there wasn't a change of possession on the play (the 49ers never recovered the ball in the field of play), the Seahawks were still considered the offense and can advance the ball if they recover it.
Because Seattle is still on offense, any penalty that is called on them will be enforced from the original line of scrimmage (if said penalty is accepted), not the spot of the foul.