There are 108 users in the forums

Remember
Not a member? Register Now!

49er Greats from '80s & '90s:Why Not Involved More w/ Team in Some Capacity?

(I searched and couldn't find a thread on this – I apologize in advance if I missed it.)

This is something I've been wondering about over the last few years: Why aren't some of the all-time Niner greats more involved with the team, be it as paid coaches, special advisors/consultants, or whatever? I'm not saying they should be as of course they should live their lives after football any way they choose...I'm just wondering if there's some reason that's keeping them at a distance (Denise York? more below).

If I was a team beat writer such as Barrows or Maiocco, this would be a story I'd do some investigative work on and get to the bottom of. Guys like Lott helping out with the DBs and offering incredible insight/coaching from his past experiences and successes, especially in helping out and inspiring the younger players on the team. Whenever I see footage of Lott addressing the team during his playing days, I get fired up! You could go on and on…Rice for the WR spot (Niners need all the help they can get at that position...and, who wouldn't listen to the greatest WR of all time?)...Young for the QBs (he's very smart and obviously very well-spoken...could easily articulate his thoughts and of course knows the game and the QB position like the back of his hand)...Brent Jones for the TEs (again, very well spoken, etc.)...Keena Turner for the LBs...there's more, and a lot of these guys are still right here in the Bay Area.