There are 69 users in the forums

Remember
Not a member? Register Now!

The Devin Thomas no call?

Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

Not sure that was true...but that is what was ruled.
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...

How wasn't he the first?
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...

How wasn't he the first?

Williams's knee
Yes it should have been a penalty, but it is rarely called, which means our guys do it too. The refs, like the fans are mainly concerned with the who touches it first aspect, which is pretty ridiculous
[ Edited by danimal on Jan 27, 2012 at 11:11 AM ]
Originally posted by OKC49erFan:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...

How wasn't he the first?

Williams's knee

but that's what im getting at. The ruling on the field was that Williams wasn't the first which should of been a penalty to Thomas
[ Edited by 49AllTheTime on Jan 27, 2012 at 11:15 AM ]
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by OKC49erFan:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...

How wasn't he the first?

Williams's knee

but that's what im getting at. The ruling on the field was that Williams wasn't the first which should of been a penalty to Thomas

What?

If Wiliams touches the ball, then Thomas is the second one to touch it...No foul.
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by OKC49erFan:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...

How wasn't he the first?

Williams's knee

but that's what im getting at. The ruling on the field was that Williams wasn't the first which should of been a penalty to Thomas

Still would have been overturned after the review? No?
Originally posted by OKC49erFan:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by OKC49erFan:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...

How wasn't he the first?

Williams's knee

but that's what im getting at. The ruling on the field was that Williams wasn't the first which should of been a penalty to Thomas

Still would have been overturned after the review? No?

True, but that would of made the refs look at him running out of bounds and not making an attempt to go back in which the Refs didn't even acknowledge

idk, there were so many BS non calls
[ Edited by 49AllTheTime on Jan 27, 2012 at 11:19 AM ]
Originally posted by OKC49erFan:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by OKC49erFan:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
Originally posted by 49AllTheTime:
Originally posted by Sjceruti:
He wasn't the first to touch the ball...didn't really matter

now thinking about it should of brought a illegal touching penalty

The ruling on the field was a downed punt which Thomas was the first person to touch the ball after running out of bounds.

But he wasnt the first to touch it...

How wasn't he the first?

Williams's knee

but that's what im getting at. The ruling on the field was that Williams wasn't the first which should of been a penalty to Thomas

Still would have been overturned after the review? No?
I tink I get what's being said here...that the INITIAL call was a downed punt, i.e. ref did not realize/call it had hit Williams' knee. So yes, you are correct from the standpoint that IF they would have judged Thomas NOT making an effort to immediately RE-establish himself IN BOUNDS, then they could have flagged him for illegal "first touch."

But I think it was simply a judgement by the ref that he was FORCED out and DID make an effort to re-establish...ergo, no penalty for illegal touch. Even if flag would have been thrown, the Giants would have challenged based on their belief of a Williams muff, so illegal touching penalty on Thomas would have been wiped out since he was not the first one to touch.

I was thinking that it could be a penalty even if gunner is forced out but DOES use sideline as advantage, EVEN IF he ends up not being first one to touch the ball. But I do not see anything in the NFL Rulebook ("Rule 9, Scrimmage Kicks) that allows for a penalty to be called on a player simply for being FORCED out and not immediately re-establishing.
Originally posted by DaDivaRecieva15:
Who cares lulz

this