LISTEN: Final 49ers 7-Round Mock Draft With Steph Sanchez →

There are 359 users in the forums

These wins are great, but

Shop Find 49ers gear online
  • TowelBoy
  • Info N/A
they are letting Hill keep his job longer than he merits. He has absolutely horrendous pocket awareness; sometimes he literally sacks himself by running into people, and he flashes the football right at the pass rushers he doesn't know are there. His accuracy is very hit or miss, usually miss. What limited production he does muster comes mostly from screens to Gore and Davis.

He's had one or two throws a game so far that have made me raise an eyebrow (impressed), but they can't overshadow the fact that he's a well below average NFL quarterback. I'm pretty torn about this season now. I'd be so thrilled for us to finally win another division title, but I don't think we'd have any shot whatsoever in the playoffs.

I'm no football expert, but I find it hard to believe that Alex Smith is actually worse than Hill. Supposedly, what Hill has going for him is that he's a "gamer" and he "manages the game" and he has an impressive record in a limited sample. Well, Smith has had his moments too. He had a "gamer" comeback against the Cardinals a couple years ago that had everyone buzzing about the second coming.

But I digress. If Smith is really and truly a bust, we need to get serious about 2009 success and trade for a quarterback.
  • Chief
  • Veteran
  • eddie23
  • Info N/A
I've seen what both Smith and Hill can do... and believe me, I'd rather keep Hill in there.
  • TowelBoy
  • Info N/A
Originally posted by Chief:

That was a troll post, really?
He is also 6-0 at home. If you like to win Hill is good, if you want pretty and stats, Hill is not your man.
  • Chief
  • Veteran
Originally posted by TowelBoy:
Originally posted by Chief:

That was a troll post, really?

IMO yes, but that is only an opinion.
[ Edited by Chief on Sep 20, 2009 at 10:03 PM ]
  • jcs
  • Veteran