I can't find clarification on this "QB as a runner" rule - anyone help?
1. QB rolls outside the pocket, but doesn't tuck the ball to run (continues to hold it with his hand like he could pass it, but it the ball is down low while he runs), is he still protected by roughing the passer rule?
2. QB tucks the ball to roll out, essentially QB run action to the outside, but pulls up and threatens to pass, again, is he protected?
Essentially, it is pretty clear that the QB is protected in the pocket, and pretty clear when the QB is running the option what the rule is. But it seems like a huge gray area outside the pocket.