Originally posted by PA9erFaithful:Originally posted by StOnEy333:Originally posted by PA9erFaithful:Originally posted by StOnEy333:The refs f**ked that one good and proper. It was cards ball on the 4 yard line, and kolb was called for Intentional Grounding on the goal line. They spot the ball on the goal line, but that's the wrong call. It should've been half the distance to the goal from the 4, therefore placing the ball on the 2. Never-the-less, they put in on the inch line, and kolb gets sacked in the endzone for a safety on the next play.
Why is it I/we know s**t like this, but the god damn refs don't? How f**king hard is it.
Did you just hear Eisen's explanation? He said it's a spot foul if the spot of the throw is further back than either 10 yards (if this had happened in the middle of the field) or half the distance (in this case).
Rich Eisen? And just to understand, you're saying my assessment of the rule was correct?
Sorry, my mistake, I am watching NFL Network and Eisen said basically the exact same thing you did, but he got corrected. Calling it a spot foul was the right call. So your assessment of the rule was not correct, as you said it should have been half the distance. The ball should have been spotted where it was.
Quote:Digest of Rules Main
Intentional Grounding of Forward Pass
Intentional grounding of a forward pass is a foul: loss of down and 10 yards from previous spot if passer is in the field of play or loss of down at the spot of the foul if it occurs more than 10 yards behind the line or safety if passer is in his own end zone when ball is released.
Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion.
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, while out of the pocket and facing an imminent loss of yardage, throws a pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including if the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or end line).
If the ball was on the 4, they can't back up 10 yards, so it's half the distance. If the foul occurred more than 10 yards behind the line of scrimmage, it would be spotted at the place of the foul, but that would have been a safety. Since he was on the inch line, it should be spotted on the 2.
[ Edited by StOnEy333 on Aug 17, 2012 at 8:25 PM ]