There are 213 users in the forums

Draft board composition

Every year I keep up with about 12-15 big boards from different draftniks such as Mel Kiper, Matt Miller, Josh Norris, NDTscouting, PFF, Gill Brandt, etc. I average all the rankings up and this average gives me an idea where each player may go. I like to do at least 12 big boards so no one's big board will throw off the average by too much.

I've been doing this for 5 years now and on average each year only 8 players have a top 10 average and 77% of the time those players actually get drafted in the top 10. What is surprising to me is the players who have a top 32 average, have a 81% hit rate on getting drafted in the first round.

Obviously the draft is a crapshoot and each team ranks players different based on scheme fit, need, etc

So with that said here are the 49ers picks with their big board average and some highs and lows from different big boards mixed in.

9. Mike McGlinchey average was 22. High of 8 (Mayock) and low of 39 (NFL.com)
44. Dante Pettis average was 79. High of 57 (NFL.com) and low of 155 (CBS)
70. Fred Warner average was 103. High of 34 (NDTScouts) and low of 218 (DraftTek)
95. Tarvarius Moore average of 104. High of 54 (PFF) and low of 145 (DraftTek)
128. Kentavious Street average of 156. High of 77 (Walter Football) and low of 252 (nfl.com)
142. DJ Reed average of 155
184. Marcell Harris average of 329
223. Julian Taylore average of 178
240. Richie James average of 204
UDFA. Tarvaus McFadden Average of 130

So our biggest early round reach was Dante Pettis. Obviously our coaching staff liked him a lot and who knows if other teams did. He's a player they felt they needed to move up and get so they did. I was listening to the KC Chiefs GM on the radio last night and he talked about how the Chiefs traded up for Breeland Speaks at #46 but his average according to the board I have was 123. It just goes to show you never know where these teams have these players ranked.