LISTEN: Final 49ers 7-Round Mock Draft With Steph Sanchez →

There are 403 users in the forums

MadDog's 2014 NFL Draft Pre-Combine Big 100 Board

Draft Fever is right around the corner, and this is my first attempt in 2014 to project where I think the best prospects will land. This is not a grading board, nor a mock draft. It is a ballpark estimation of where I feel players will land (in the general vicinity). Trades dramatically alter the location of where teams select, so I tend to look more at an overall projection than a specific slot to a specific team picking a specific player.

Couple notes: Dominique Easley is not on my Big 100 Board. After a second torn ACL, I feel his medicals will push him into the 4th round (even though he is a terrific player). I tend to be a bit skeptical of high rankings for underclassmen, after the top tier is selected. Most are also shocked on draft weekend. Yearly, we see guys who think they are a first rounder, and many also project in the first round, slide into the third. Many might be angered with my placement of Jordan Matthews. Matthews is the perfect student of the game, and a terrific college talent. I am not so sure he breeches the top 50 picks due to speed and explosiveness limitations. Thus, closer to the end of the second round than the first.

Of course, there is still a LOT of fluidity on the board, and the combine and campus workouts will alter the placement of players. For now, this is where I think they stand.

Cheers,

2014 NFL Draft 255 Big Board
Pick Player School Position
1 Teddy Bridgewater Louisville QB
2 Blake Bortles Central Florida QB
3 Jadeveon Clowney South Carolina DE
4 Jake Matthews Texas A&M OT
5 Sammy Watkins Clemson WR
6 Anthony Barr UCLA LB
7 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M QB
8 Derek Carr Fresno State QB
9 Greg Robinson Auburn OT
10 Khalil Mack Buffalo DE/OLB
11 Mike Evans Texas A&M WR
12 Darqueze Dennard Michigan St CB
13 Justin Gilbert Oklahoma State CB
14 Kony Ealy Missouri DE/OLB