LISTEN: Are The 49ers Showing Their Hand? →

There are 216 users in the forums

QB vs DB Dilemma

As much as the 49ers need for a QB, I want the 49ers to pick a top DB too. If 49ers did choose a DB in the first, a decen QB should be there at 2nd round but not sure a decent DB. Decision, decision and decision for Harbaugh and Baalke. What would you guys do?
I waffle back and forth constantly on this topic. I'm now watching Cutler and now I have "Gunslinger Envy." Ryan Mallett wouldn't look bad in Red and Gold.
I am amazed at how many people here are in the either QB or DB in the first round thought process.

This team is in desperate need to improve its pass rush. I've been saying it for several years now and we keep forgetting about it. We need to change that this year.

There is some decent depth at DB in this draft and no QB is worth #7 overall.

You improve the pass rush you improve the whole defense. Corners become instantly better when you don't have to cover a guy for 10 seconds.
Just my opinion...Let it be known that I have complete confidence in Jimmy boy to get his QB one way or the other. With the 7 pick, personally I want Peterson or Amakumura. UNLESS...Harbaugh think's Locker is THE GUY, then I don't want a QB until later rounds (Stanzi).
Originally posted by genus49:
I am amazed at how many people here are in the either QB or DB in the first round thought process.

This team is in desperate need to improve its pass rush. I've been saying it for several years now and we keep forgetting about it. We need to change that this year.

You improve the pass rush you improve the whole defense. Corners become instantly better when you don't have to cover a guy for 10 seconds.

I understand the correlation and the need for DE. But at #7, there isn't really a DE you would want that early. A quality DB and QB will be there at #7. I do like Clayborn from Iowa and Heyward from Ohio St.
Originally posted by Kenyonsdad: